Need help with humanizing drums

• Thread starter Basp
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Basp

Reaction score
Hi,

As a drummer myself i'm struggeling to get MIDI drums to sound right. I've tried automatic humanizing and manual editing, which improves the end-result, but I'd like to know how to get the drums to sound as human as on the Animals as Leaders albums for instance.

Here is an example of one of my MIDI tracks and the sound through my SD2.0 preset:

MIDI track

SD2.0 track

If you guys have any tips on how to improve my MIDI, maybe the drum mix itself, it would be much appreciated!

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

axxessdenied

Arium Addict
Reaction score
The secret is in the velocities not whether they are stuck to a grid or not. A human never hits something at the exact same strength every time.

Basp

Reaction score
This link was actually the basis of my previous humanization efforts. I'm trying to get my drums on super realistic levels beyond what this link can teach me. Any tips there?

Winspear

Winspear/Noisemother
Reaction score
I can't remember the exact details of what I wrote in that thread but I know my approach hasn't changed much. I'm not hearing as much velocity variation in your drums as I would expect? Where are the numbers at? :)
Here's something I did recently - check out the quiet hits on the snare and cymbals drumv2-Master

EDIT: I will take a look at the MIDI

Winspear

Winspear/Noisemother
Reaction score