NEMECIDE - Do You Read Sutter Kane? (S2.0, Painkiller, DSL100)

zimbloth

Nick // Axe Palace
Vendor
Forum MVP
Reaction score
This is our newest song and the final track on our first CD. This is our first tune using an alternate tuning as well (BEADGBE). I recorded this mainly to test to see how Buddy's Marshall DSL100 sounded direct using impulses. While this is not the final mix, I think it came out well. I welcome any of your feedback :)

Here's the rundown of what I used:

Guitar: Ibanez S7320
Amps: Marshall DSL100 (all)
Cabinet: N/A (impulse = 4x12 w/ V30s)
Pickup: Bare Knuckle 'Painkiller' (bridge), Ibanez stocker (neck - intro part)
Mic: N/A (impulse = SM57 straight on, I5 45 deg angle)
Bass: Rogue 5-string :)noplease:)
Drums: DFH Superior 2.0 (I'm new to this prog, still trying to figure it out)
Misc: Presonus Firepod, Cakewalk Sonar 7 Pro, iZotope plugins, Ampeg 8x10 impulses for the bass, etc. Also I think the drums might be aligned wrong, my drummer coded this using a different program so I'm not sure if it all lines up with what I have haha.

[media]http://www.nemecide.com/2232[/media]

A quick note on the BKP Painkiller: man is this thing cool. It's extremely tight and has a wicked high-mid snarl (you can really hear it during the interlude/breakdown parts). Real cool lead tones as well. I think this would fare better w/ my VHT though, as the Marshall already has a crunchy bright sound like this pickup. I imagine the Painkiller would be awesome for an 8-string or any mahogany guitar - I love it. Supreme 'djent' if you will, not as thick as the Warpig, Nailbomb, or Miracle Man, but it fits in perfect in the mix. :metal:

Anyways thanks for looking! :wavey:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

zapper1986

death metal southpaw
Reaction score
sounds good man.

ps. in the mouth of madness was a sweet movie

zimbloth

Nick // Axe Palace
Vendor
Forum MVP
Reaction score