New pickups for Strandberg + ESP LTD MH-1000?

• Thread starter Velokki
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Velokki

GAS station
Reaction score
Hello, good people of SS.org!

I have two pickup-related questions:

FIRST:
I'm thinking of getting new pickups for my Strandberg Boden Original 6.
I really like the guitar. The only thing I don't like 100% are the Nailbomb pickups. I mean, for what they are... they're just what they are. I have Nailbombs in another guitar, and while they're ok and the note definition is nice, I'd still prefer something else here.

Especially on this Strandberg the Nailbombs are quite sterile, icepicky and shrill. They don't breathe, in a way. Sorry, I'm not very good at describing pickups, but I'm searching something that would complement this guitar better.

What would you recommend as alternatives?

SECOND:
I have an ESP LTD MH-1000. It has the 59/JB set in it. I totally love it. But I just tuned it to baritone, and it gets super muddy. It just can't take the low B. Any recommendations for alternatives there, could be very similar to the 59/JB set? I could also just look at replacing the bridge pickup, since I almost always use that. Only time I use the neck are for leads, and they're played on the high register anyway. What would you recommend here?

Velokki

GAS station
Reaction score
Nailbombs into the Ltd.
jbjazz into the Strandberg.

Done.
Great thinking!
However, would you reckon the Nailbombs would work in the MH-1000? I've found myself not to be a huge fan of the Nailbomb's tone anyways, especially on the strandy. This is probably due to the overall tone of the guitar, of course, so don't know how they would work in the LTD.

Second, the Strandberg had the JB set removed by the previous owner - I have this set as spares. I read in another thread that;