New to Guitar

• Thread starter Minella
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Minella

Reaction score
Hi all! I'm from the US and I am an Accountant. Aside from work, I play video games and attend college. I needed a new, and completely different hobby, so.....

I just picked up my first guitar... ever. I got an Ibanez RG8 and I have been having a lot of fun on it! I've only been learning simple riffs and a few chords, trying to get my tiny hands to adapt to the size of it. I got it used for a pretty good price with EMG 808x's already installed. Any advice for someone so new? Any song suggestions? I'll take anything! Haha.

PICS:
So, when I bought it it was decorated all "Halloween"... The movie, not the holiday. I've since removed a decent portion of the Halloween stuff, I really just have the knives on the neck and the remainder of the skin under the bridge (you only really see it peek out at the edges). The Halloween skin really did give it a cool effect, but I'm more of a simple person - so going back to black was a necessity. The left side picture is when I first got it, the right is after removing a decent amount of the decals.
instasize_190209192116.png

Any advice anyone might have would be great! We have two seven strings in house (Ibanez RG1077XL and Douglas Scope 727(I think??)) as well, so even riffs I can focus on using those would be appreciated to get the hang of it! Also, what are some things I should avoid doing - bad habits I should avoid learning?

Thanks!!

Catalyst Collide

Reaction score
Welcome and congrats on picking up a new hobby! I think you made an improvement by taking off the decal.