NGD: Schecter Blackjack SLS C-8 (Updated inlays) in the UK

• Thread starter Benny Boy
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Benny Boy

Reaction score
I’ve been playing Schecter seven strings for a few years, and having recently been on the lookout for a 27” + eight string the SLS C-8 caught my attention straight away. The “Hell’s Gate” skull inlay quickly put an end to this :wallbash:, but then I started seeing threads on here with the updated model.

A web search gave little choice in the UK/EU, and GAK simply said “no” when I asked about the updated inlays.

So, I blind copied an email to every UK seller listed on the Westside website (UK distribution for Schecter) to see what kind of reaction I got. Among the more amusing responses:

“Very sorry but this is a US only”

“The Blackjack SLS C-8 EX which has the dots was a limited run model and is no longer available and was never brought into the country”

“Sounds like you may have sorted this one out now as the guy at Westside said he’s never had so many calls about one particular model :-o”

I also received an offer quite a way below any list prices I’ve seen (UK peeps may want to contact Reidy’s in Blackburn) which after some repeated clarification (Dots? Definitely dots? You’re sure it has dots?) resulted in a very early start last Saturday morning:

Nice sturdy packaging

It’s the right case…

There’s a guitar in there! Can’t see any dots though…

YES DOTS!!!

More dots

Mmm, nice finish

The only thing I don’t like too much is the different headstock logo, although I’m sure I’ll get over it.

Family photo (C7 Hellraiser, SLS C-8 and C7 FR) Both C7s were purchased from Tim Mauery's ebay store.