Potential Veneer Problems

• Thread starter JimF
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

JimF

Contributor
Reaction score
Hi all.
I'm planning on adding a veneer to a Jackson body I have. I'll be doing a few tweaks to the shape as well.
My concern is that once glued, the edge of the veneer will be vulnerable to snags and tear outs etc. I can imagine it snagging on an item of clothing or guitar strap and splintering pieces off.
Does this happen?
Also, would a liberal application of Danish oil affect the glue in any way?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

MoonJelly

a subtle stinging sensation..
Reaction score
It could, depending on how carefully (or not) you glue it, and the treatment you give the edge. I'm not an expert in veneer, but a couple years ago I did redwood veneers on a headstock and was worried about the same thing. I micro-beveled the edge, maybe a half millimeter with an x-acto knife. And I sealed the edge all around with a light brush of mod podge (the matte stuff). Unfortunately I didn't document the occasion. Can't comment on the Danish Oil as the whole thing was covered with Alsa Super Clear, a urethane gloss.

MoonJelly

a subtle stinging sensation..
Reaction score
You probably don't need a router. Sandpaper or a sharp blade should do enough. Look at any guitar headstock without binding, and you'll be able to see the edge is just verrry slightly rounded.

intortus

Reaction score
Cool I'm with you, thanks!
Wish me luck!

Hey man please documenting as you do this mod? because I'm kinda in your situation right now and I really want to see someone do it first (visual clue I guess). Thanks a million! Hope your mod turn out beautiful.

pondman

Build Whore.
Contributor
Reaction score
Once the edges are chamfered or rounded over its fine.