Question for Luthiers

• Thread starter snowblind56
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

For Luthiers, purchased guitars or self built customs?

• Customs that you built

Votes: 3 75.0%
  • Store purchased guitars

Votes: 1 25.0%

• Total voters

snowblind56

Reaction score
As a trained Luthier myself, someone asked me why I don't play customs that I built and why I play off the shelf guitars. So my question is, do my fellow SS.org Luthiers prefer to play guitars that they built or guitars that they bought? I know that some play both, but I am talking the majority of the guitars that you play.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Erik Hauri

Lumber -> Guitars
Reaction score
Right now its about 50-50, and here's why.

Besides asthetics (woods, finishes, etc), the thing I most like to customize about my own instruments is the string spacing at the nut. I like a wider spacing than most off-the-shelf instruments. But I have a reasonably fixed number in my head, of different guitars that will fill out my sound. About 15 in all.

My "stock" collection is pretty much a Strat, a Tele and a Gisbon LP - so the ones I've built - or am building - for myself are the ones that are the furthest departure from those tones (baritone LP, 8-string fanned-fret LP, baritone Tele, 7-string Strat - and a double-neck Strat just for fun). I don't yet need to build a wide-necked 6-string Strat because - well, I can get by on the stock one until the higher priority instruments are finished.

This doesn't count basses - I've built 3 for myself and have no stock basses.

Rusti

Reaction score
Atm i have 1 strato and 2 guitars builded by me, i only play the guitars i builded and im not interested in buying other guitars. Right now im building my third guitar :)

SD83

Reaction score