Randall RM100 vs Mark IV

Roon4me

Reaction score
OK so here is my deal. I have an RM100 and I play on a RG2228. I love my amp. No doubt. However I am a disabled vet so Im getting really tired of hauling around a half stack. I need a small combo so I can jam with random people and get my mojo back.
I saw a mark iv in the music store and I thought that would be sweet. Its the 1x12 combo. I think it sounds good, I play grunge and metal mixed mostly.
He wants 800 for the mark iv. I was wondering if anybody has played on the rm20 combos. I think then I could still keep playing with my modules. but the boogie is a boogie. I need advice since they are only going to hold the mesa for me till this monday right after easter. I noticed the rm20s are kinda hard to find too. Ebay here i come... maybe.
which one would you get? Mesa Boogie Mk IV or Randall rm20? thanks for everything and anything!

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Rook

Electrifying
Reaction score
Mark IV for 800 is very good, and Id take that over any Randall every day of the week. Te Mark IV is however extremely heavy.

If you're gunna jam, maybe have a look at an Axe FX Standard and a powered monitor? Extremely portable, versatile, great for playing at home and recording.

I wouldn't gig one, but for what you want it sounds great. Obviously more expensive though.

I have huge respect for anyone in the forces, by the way :)

Roon4me

Reaction score
YES! thankyou that was fast! thats what Im talking about! This site is awesome!

Axe fx would be sweet but I think I can scrounge up only 800 max. There is no way for a Axe less that a grand.
Randall rm100 head alone is around 80lbs so one little mark iv I can handle. plus the option of being able to punch a drummer in the face with your volume when you need is always nice. The boogie is not midi though and the randall does metal very easily!
Would we still go for the ol' mk iv over a metal amp like that?