Rebuilding a Schecter Omen 7 - Lamborghini inspired

joaocunha

A nomad
Contributor
Reaction score
Sup?

I have a spare Schecter Omen-7 laying around for a while primarily because it's neck is twisted - I'll start a different thread about the proccess. The guitar was pretty beaten up, too, so I decided to try fixing it up and do a refinish on the whole axe, somehow inspired by Lambos. What I mean by it: carbon fiber + satin black (and maybe some orange stripes).

Proposed specs:
- Satin black sperzel tuners;
- Black TOM bridge;
- EMG 707's;
- 3M carbon fiber veneer on the body and headstock;
- Graphtech carvin slotted nut;
- Headstock modification;
- Neck black staining;
- Scale black staining;

DISCLAIMER: I'm not a pro, I don't have the necessary tools nor the skills, and I am used to do things in the wrong order. You will see in the pics.

For those who don't know how a standard Omen-7 should look like:
bigomen7blk_mini.jpg

I started by taking away a crappily replaced nut:
25052010072.jpg

25052010073.jpg

Started the sanding and pickup routing...
IMG_5060.jpg

IMG_5062.jpg

IMG_5063.jpg

IMG_5064.jpg

DSCF0796_mini.jpg

So I was anxious to see how a maple neck would look like if heavily stained. And so I did it:

DSCF0793_mini.jpg

DSCF0794_mini.jpg

DSCF0797_mini.jpg

DSCF0795_mini.jpg

DSCF0799_mini.jpg

DSCF0800_mini.jpg

DSCF0801_mini.jpg

DSCF0802_mini.jpg

DSCF0805_mini.jpg

Who needs graphite necks after all? :fawk:
DSCF0807_mini.jpg

DSCF0809_mini.jpg

As mentioned before, I started the wrong way just to see how it would look like. The neck needs proper sanding, and I'm thinking about a different inlay for it. This is just a tease.

Last edited:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

joaocunha

A nomad
Contributor
Reaction score
3M Di-Noc Carbon Fiber looking vinyl:

1-3m-dinoc-carbon-fiber-ca421_1.jpg

Some inspiration:
IMSA-Lamborghini-Murcielago-Spyder-2009-1920x1200-008.jpg