Recommendations for Studio Monitors?

• Thread starter Anquished
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Anquished

hhnice!
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've begun the process of kitting out my study with the intention of recording stuff and wondered if anyone would be able to help. This is a complete newbie set up so really I'm after some "starter" studio monitors, I guess? Price range is maybe £200-£250 per monitor? I may be able to stretch a little further if it's worth it.

Cheers.

sezna

undermotivated
Contributor
Reaction score
I'm happy with my Rokits (two monitors and a sub). I'm sure they aren't good enough for many of the other cats on here, but I give them my recommendation. Solidly built, easy to use/control EQ/control volume, look decent...

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Nick

Reaction score
Yamaha hs7s all day long at that price. I just got a SET second hand (still sealed in the boxes) for £200. There are other good deals out there on sets as well. Outstanding monitors depending on your room size you may be better with smaller or larger cones but the hs series is the way to go.

Drew

Forum MVP
Reaction score
Not sure what your options are in the UK for your price range, but I'd strongly prioritize anything with an 8" driver. Lower extension or lack thereof) and ability to reproduce low end is going to be the biggest issue in this area, and I'd take almost anything with a full size driver vs a 6.5" that's ostentatiously more "high end."

I have a pair of what are now the Yamaha HS8s, and they're great - very detailed high end. That said, I'm in an untreated room and proper bass trapping would do worlds for my monitor chain, so if you can swing it down the road and have a dedicated space, bass trapping would be the next thing I'd look at.

GatherTheArsenal

SF2 > Everything
Reaction score