Searching for dat tight, thick bass tone

• Thread starter waroftheancients
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

waroftheancients

WHAT DOTH LIFE???
Reaction score
Bass noob here. School me.

I'm a guitarist that is putting together a home studio to record my various music projects and I'm searching for the perfect bass to buy for recording. I have a few questions concerning bass tonal characteristics:

Bass wood: Which is the best bass guitar woods for that tight, thick sound? Does it even really matter like it does with guitar?

Pickups: I'm thinking of going with an active set. Can anyone steer me in the right direction? I plan on recording all different types of metal, from black metal to progressive/djent type shits.

Any recommendations on basses I should check out? Brands? I don't want to spend more than $1000 on the bass.

I don't need any advice on amps, because I plan on running through a D/I / AxeFxII.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

cGoEcYk

Reaction score
I think the easiest way to accomplish what you are looking for is to use multiband compression in the mix.

waroftheancients

WHAT DOTH LIFE???
Reaction score
I understand. But I'm looking for a baseline of what to shoot for in a bass. Some basses will be more tight and focused than others. That's where you guys come in.

MrSleepwalker

Reaction score
You can't go wrong with Fender JB if u are looking for an universal bass under 1k

Winspear

Winspear/Noisemother
Reaction score
Ibanez BTB imo but I don't know if they come under 1k. Can't really go wrong with a nice Ibby Soundgear either

will_shred

Wannabe audio engineer
Reaction score
IMO Ibanez basses are wonderful. The necks are amazing, they sound fantastic, and the prices are right.