Serious Left Hand Fatigue

JustinRhoads1980

Jackson Elitist
Reaction score
Hey SSO so I have a question in regards to my technique that I have been having an issue with quite a while.

So about a few weeks ago I started learning how to play hammer smashed face by cannibal corpse and I notice that when I am playing through the song that my left only is so fatigued.

I was curious as to what could be causing it? I am playing on a guitar with a 25.5" scale length with 10-52s, could the lower strings be causing me to get tense and cause fatigue in my left hand? I start off the song good in playing consistent, but after my hand starts to fatigue it begins to hurt and I end up getting a lil sloppy on playing the song and sometimes I miss the mark, pause and return and so on and so forth.

Here is the areas where I end up getting fatigued. I hope this might help!

upload_2019-2-25_21-49-9.png
upload_2019-2-25_21-49-32.png

prlgmnr

...that kind of idea
Reaction score
Don't grip so hard.

Do something to work the opposite motion like spreading your fingers and thumb out with an elastic band around (not a super tight one or anything), or you can sort of "flick" all your fingers and thumb out against a gentle resistance, e.g. your trousers, a table top, something

that explains it a lot better than text

Try a couple of drastically different guitar positions and see if any make it easier on your left hand

Reaction score
Please post a pic of your regular guitar playing position... it is most likely related to the wrist angle. You must be playing with your hand tendons way too stretched, meaning a very sharp wrist angle... and this is due to having the guitar neck way too low... for our needs...

Also, are you going for the thumb over technique? Don't.

Most immediate thing to try is to raise the guitar's neck. It's easy and may answer your problem almost instantly...

... says the internet without any visual confirmation... :D