Should I pay for lessons?

• Thread starter nicknuisance
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

nicknuisance

Master Shredder
Contributor
Reaction score
I've been playing for a couple years now. I've been buying and selling gear, of course hoping it would let me explore what I really want to play, but recently been thinking I should get lessons. I've kind of hit a fork in the road and think that no matter how much I play, I don't get any further in technique or style. Is getting lessons worth it, or should I try some DVDs? I've got some scale books, but its all the same to me, doesn't get me really anywhere. I play the same licks over and over and don't go anywhere else with it. Give me some feedback!

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

BigM555

I SS.org Salute You!
Contributor
Reaction score
I believe it has a lot to do with the way you learn.

DVD's and books will do it for some people but personally I think I've always gotten much more out of being face to face with people. Most of mine has simply been through osmosis while playing with others. I never really took many official lessons.

A good teacher can certainly help branch you out into new styles and techniques and offer pointers that will take far longer to absorb from less personal learning methods.

While it can be tough to find a good teacher that will teach the type of stuff you want to learn you should remain open and be willing to "start at the basics" for some things. A teacher will often want to first establish a foundation (which you MAY think you already have but it may not be correct) before allowing a student the freedom to pick their own itinerary.