Spalted Maple, Black Limba, Quilt 7-String

• Thread starter skate
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

skate

Reaction score
I have been building for about 2 years now and thought I would try something new(new for me at least).

Specs:
7-String 27"scale length
Body: Black Limba
Top: Maple Quilt
Neck: Flamed Maple
Fingerboard: Spalted Maple :nuts:
24 frets, Jumbo Fretwire
3-way toggle, Master Volume
Bareknuckle Pickups
Hipshot Bridge

Lets get Started!!!

CIMG1128.jpg

CIMG1152.jpg

CIMG1164.jpg

CIMG1176.jpg

CIMG1181.jpg

Photo0042.jpg

Photo0050.jpg

Photo0406.jpg

Photo0299.jpg

Photo0301.jpg

Photo0326.jpg

Photo0327.jpg

Photo0377.jpg

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Scattered Messiah

Kassandrian Dreams
Reaction score
Now that's interesting ... I was just recently asking myself, how it would affect the sound (or if), if you would used spalted or, traditionally speaking even worse, burled wood for a fingerboard?

I mean, the consistency is undeniably different, plus the glue to "fix" the wood, ect...

But MAN that looks hot O.O

mwcarl

Reaction score
I guess you'll find out, but with my experiences with spalted wood, I would never personally use it for any part of the guitar that experiences any kind of tension/force. So a neck or fretboard would be out of the question, remember that the fretboard has the truss rod pressing against it, which could cause the wood to break. It does depend on the strength/stability of the particular piece of wood though. It will be interesting to see how it works out.

bob123

Banned
Reaction score
You got some bals using spalted maple for a fretboard. Make sure you glue the frets in! Lol

That top looks stunning, and is gonna pop like crazy when you dye it!! Looks good so far!

ECGuitars

Reaction score