SSO build tutorials

• Thread starter J_Mac
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

J_Mac

Reaction score
As a beginner I have been eagerly absorbing everything I can about gtr builds. I've learned more at SSO than any youtube video or other website. There's a massive stack of talent here. :bowdown:

What I can't seem to find is a concise overview of how things are done from start to finish, in what order, potential pitfalls and recommendations. This would be a massive help for beginners. :hbang:

I know it's a big ask, but could anyone be so kind as to give us their general approach when building a gtr?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

JuliusJahn

Luthier
Reaction score
Its hard to do, because we all have and use different jigs, machines, and preferences. Through experience you'll learn what saves you time and with ever mistake you can re-order your list. Routing the Hs before you glue the FB is a good one that you dont know until you have to shim your template by 1/4" to stop the router from hitting your fretboard.

J_Mac

Reaction score
Its hard to do, because we all have and use different jigs, machines, and preferences. Through experience you'll learn what saves you time and with ever mistake you can re-order your list. Routing the Hs before you glue the FB is a good one that you dont know until you have to shim your template by 1/4" to stop the router from hitting your fretboard.

Exactly my angle dude, I am curious about the methods of the SSO brains and how your general approaches differ and complement each other.

J_Mac

Reaction score
What's a router ? :squint:

Place-WiFi-Router.gif

JuliusJahn

Luthier
Reaction score
Exactly my angle dude, I am curious about the methods of the SSO brains and how your general approaches differ and complement each other.