String gauges for a 27 inch scale 7 string?

• Thread starter warlock7strEMG
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

warlock7strEMG

Reaction score
OK so I am new to the whole extended range 7 string world. All of my 7 strings have either been 22 or 24 fret 24 1/2 inch scale length. With these I have always been happy with the D'Addaro 59-10 sets. Enough string tension for stable tuning/intonation and enough tension for your pick to bounce back nicely even when you are playing fairly hard and digging in. And being that I do not tune any lower than drop a they always seem to work for me

However my newest guitar is a neck thru Agile Septor 727. Between the playability and the way it sounds not to mention how beautiful it is, it has definitely become my favorite guitar. I actually love the string tension on it. Extended scale length on a 7 string and I definitely see as a necessity from here on out.

My problem is that I do not know what gauge strings are on it. I have been told that 27 inch scale seven strings typically come with 9 through 54 or something like that, as the longer scale necks increased string tension works better with lighter gauge strings especially when you tune to standard B or drop A like I do.

If I use a 10-59 set like I do on my shorter neck guitars, am I going to experience too much string tension at standard B or drop A 7 string tuning? Or should I go something like Ernie Ball slinky 9-52? Once again, I am in love with the increased string tension and stability of the 27 inch scale neck and I want to still be able to take full advantage of this aspect, but at the same time I don't want to overdo it with strings that are too heavy.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

RuslanK

Reaction score