The Pickup Question We've Heard A Million Times

MiahDrao

Reaction score
I'm certain everybody about to buy an Agile has asked this, but I just want to know what you think.

I'm probably getting a new Agile 8, which usually come with Cepheus passives, EMG 808s, or Seymour Duncan Blackouts. Personally, I don't love the sound of the EMGs and generally prefer passives. However, I am willing to give the Blackouts a try because I have heard that most passive players don't mind them. I've never used actives before, so I don't even know how often you have to change out the batteries. Of course, there is the option to just get new pickups after one purchases the guitar (Right now, affordability is the primary issue for me, so I don't really want to get separate pickups).

As for sound, I prefer to use the 8-string as an extension for heavy-riffing, but I probably won't use it for djent-style chugs. Favorite bands are Korn, Deftones, and Rammstein if that gives you an idea for what kind of sound I'm looking for. Two of these bands don't even use 8-strings, but I just love Korn's riffing style and Rammstein's dense sound (even though they only use baritones tuned to drop C).

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

TheKindred

TimeTravel Innovator
Reaction score
what are you asking here? You just want to know which of the 3 pup options to go with ?

You said the you don't like EMGs, so just scratch those off straight away. For Blackouts vs Cepheus, I would personally go with the SD's based on the bands you mentioned (not to mention they're considered a "higher-tier" pup for the most part).