Thinking of building my own seven.

• Thread starter Shenaniganizer
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Shenaniganizer

Reaction score
Since I'd love to have a seven-string Kelly, and I can't really afford to throw all the money out at once for one, I think I may build my own.
I have my six-string Kelly, so I can trace the body. I'm sure it'll take a bit of modification to accommodate a seven-string neck. I'm hoping to make this a neck-thru.
I've never built a guitar before. My grandpa has the tools needed. All I need are materials. So.. first thing's first: where do I get some wood? :noplease: There may be a lumber shop near my town that I can go to, so, I can check that out. But, for now, what're my online options?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Rusti

Reaction score
Hi :)
well, imo buying the woods and all the parts its not much cheaper than a new medium price guitar, plus if its your first you don't know yet if the result will be better than the one bought in a shop :p
but if do it for self satisfaction its cool :)
First hint is to not start working until all the project is done.
I know its hard to do it the first time, find all the parts you need (be sure they can work toghether), buy all the parts, make a plane and calculate every measure, when you are sure on what to do, start workin ;)
imo the first link you probably need is STEWMAC.COM : Guitar, Bass, Banjo, Mandolin, Parts, Tools, Supplies, Free Information here you can find everything for stringed instrument liuthery, tools, plans, parts, and some wood, not less important you can get many hints on how to work.
If you want to make your job easier you can find on Warmoth Custom Guitar Parts - Custom bass and guitar bodies, necks, pickups, pickguards and hardware some bodies or necks.
Here you can find more woods Exotic Woods
You can find more woods on ebay of course :)