Tips for synchronizing singing and playing?

• Thread starter wheresthefbomb
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

wheresthefbomb

Reaction score
Hey guys, TOTAL beginner Learning how to- ahhh, gotcha! I just started voice lessons and I've picked out a few covers to work on. Right now I'm doing Low- Words and True Widow- Skull Eyes. I can sing them both, or play them both, but the whole rub-your-belly-and-pat-your-head of doing both at the same time is really challenging, especially on the passages where they start the vocal lines on a weird off-beat, which seems to be most of them now that I'm actually paying attention.

Right now what I'm doing is playing along with the songs a lot and taking breaks to try it myself. Sometimes I'll "whisper"/quietly sing challenging passages while playing, and also sing along to them without playing and try to really focus on how the vocal rhythms relate to the guitar timing. I'm seeing progress, but it's really slow going and I'm wondering if anyone has any good tips to help synchronize my hands, voice, and brain.

One thing in particular that consistently messes me up is that I have a really hard time coming in on a beat that is off from the strumming pattern I'm playing, every once in a while I get it but most of the time one or the other doesn't land quite right. Similarly, I find myself losing count when I'm singing longer sections and missing chord transitions.

I'm of course working on this stuff with my teacher as well. She's fantastic, but she's not a guitar player so I thought y'all might have some insights specific to that

No I don't have a wife and kids, but it's pretty obvious my cat thinks my tone is awful, and yes I've already tried sweep taps 🧹🧹:shred:

TIA

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

AwakenTheSkies

Life is like a box of chocolates
Reaction score