Tone Suggestions (djent)

Horizongeetar93

the sparkle guy
Reaction score
Hey i'm new to sevenstring so here is my bs post about something ive needed help with.
I own a Peavey 6505 (like a lot of people) and a marshall 1960 lead cab. from guitar to amp i go:
guitar-tuner-ibanez ts9-boss eq-boss noise suppressor-amp.
It hasnt failed me yet, but ive been craving for a more sharp, edgy, gritty tone. aka-djent. Something preferably mid-gain oriented but not completely reliable on it. In short-Periphery sounding or I the Breather sounding. If you have any gear and/or knob suggestions for this that would be well appreciated. Thanks!
-Austin

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

natspotats

Reaction score
just for future reference you should try the search function before you post, just in case someone else has made a thread similar to this. its your first post so i dont blame you but just wait till other people start posting on here making you feel stupid for not using the search function :D

rippedflesh89

Reaction score
Hey i'm new to sevenstring so here is my bs post about something ive needed help with.
I own a Peavey 6505 (like a lot of people) and a marshall 1960 lead cab. from guitar to amp i go:
guitar-tuner-ibanez ts9-boss eq-boss noise suppressor-amp.
It hasnt failed me yet, but ive been craving for a more sharp, edgy, gritty tone. aka-djent. Something preferably mid-gain oriented but not completely reliable on it. In short-Periphery sounding or I the Breather sounding. If you have any gear and/or knob suggestions for this that would be well appreciated. Thanks!
-Austin

TS9: level - 7-9.5
gain - 0
tone - just about anywhere you like it

boss eq: 100 Hz - cut, but be careful; take away too much and your tone will get thin
200 Hz -keep flat
400 Hz - cut
800 Hz - keep flat
1.6 KHz - boost... or cut if you decide to boost 3.2 KHz
3.2 KHz - if you boost 1.6 Khz, cut this; or vice versa