Want to learn how to sight read. Where to start.

• Thread starter carvinx
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

carvinx

Reaction score
I have been playing guitar for 4 years and have spent time with music theory but never reading music other than tabs. I managed to read/learn a little jazz piece, but can't really sight read quickly. I mostly play heavy music, but am versatile overall with my playing. Any good sources to pick up on my sight reading? Also am looking to get some lessons in the not to distant future. Looking for some god advice.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Mr. Big Noodles

Theory God
Reaction score
In order to sight read (I assume standard notation), you have to be fluent in standard notation in the first place. To learn standard notation, you have to use it. This means reading and writing it. Transcribe some of your tabs into standard notation. Write new melodies in standard. Go on IMSLP, grab some random sheet music, and read it down. Do that a little bit every day, and you'll get there.

Alex Kenivel

Stunt Guitar
Reaction score
After learning the notes of the fretboard, start with the easy and obvious like twinkle twinkle little star, Mary had a little lamb, then just try arpegiating easy chords, just to get your brain accustomed to it

wespaul

Octaves of Manhattan
Reaction score
You have to force yourself to do it every day. Like you learned how to read in school, they made you do it every day. Start with the simple things, but also challenge yourself as you go along so you can progress as fast as your discipline will allow you to. If you can get into an ensemble (either jazz or classical guitar), you'll develop the skill even faster.

There's really no shortcut to it. You have to put in the work and stick with it.

EDIT -- A good source for learning to read: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0825636795

viesczy