Weber 8CM100 - The building thread

• Thread starter Vostre Roy
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Vostre Roy

Disciple of Djod
Reaction score
Well hello SSO, I think it was about time I would make this thread. Dunno if this is the best place to put this thread, thought it was since its gear, but I still gotta make it myself, and I'll also do the headshell, so I guess it fits here.

Anyway, after assembling my Warmoth guitar, I thought about making myself a guitar from scratch. Problem was, I have no power tool, no woodworking skills and I live in an appartment. The more I thought about it, the more I was drawn back from that idea. Then, I thought about amps kits. Tools needed aren't as big and loud as woodworking tools, I can read schematics and I have basic knowledge in electricity, so I got myself some books, learnt some stuff about amps composent, looked again, and again, and some more, and even more the schematics given by Weber to finally tell myself: What the heck, lets try it.

So a month later, the amp kit arrived (amp kits I should say, as I ordered one with a friend, who got himself another model, the two channels Hale). 8CM100, wich is basically a copy of the Marshall JCM800, wich I love the tone to death. I was torn between that one and the 6O100 (Orange clone) kit, but this one seemed easier, therefore a more logical choice. Gotta say again, I'm far from being an electrical engineer, this is by far the hardest project I've tried so far. But its also the funniest and best project I've decided to do.

So here is some pics. I'm nowhere near completion, I'm going slowly and double-checks everything I do, trying to make that build as clean as possible.

The box. Heavy, indeed, weight of 75% of two amp heads.

p1000329n.jpg

So lets start!

p1000333c.jpg

Here is a picture of the Hale turret board. Pretty different from my 8CM100.

p1000334h.jpg