What do you guys amp/cab do you guys use with your Line 6 Helix/Headrush pedalboard?

pfizer

Reaction score
I made this post just out of curiosity.

I'm not a professional musician by any means, but I do love the hobby. I'm currently quite happy with my THR10 amp for practice, jamming and the occasional recording session.

However, my friend and I went to our local guitar shop to ogle some new gear and there was a Headrush pedalboard for sale. We tried asking the sales clerk what amplifier or cab would be the best to use with it and he was either too busy, didn't know or just didn't give a shit about us.

Now, I've heard somewhere that for something like Headrush, along with its contemporaries like Kemper, Fractal and Line 6, that using an FRFR monitor would be best. I also read about something called a 4-wire set-up. Finally, would any of you guys use a Line 6 Helix or a Headrush pedalboard with an expensive tube amp like ENGL, Mesa, Peavey or Marshall? I've heard quite a few say that using a multi-effects unit with an expensive amp would be pointless. However, I'm sure there's a way to combine the good things about a nice amp head with the versatility and ease of use of modern multi-FX, right?

Any input from you guys would be great :D

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

narad

Progressive metal and politics
Reaction score
I use an Axe-fX II with the 4 cable method with an Engl SE. Regardless of how good your amp is, you're either going to need a pedalboard or an FX unit to polish the sound up. Even if not talking about time-based effects, the flexible EQs on multi-FX units can really help tailor your sound for whatever you're doing that day / recording/playing in your room/playing out presumably.

pfizer

Reaction score