What helped you the most to build chops

• Thread starter Aberak
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Aberak

I is Smart
Reaction score
was it a book, video, instructor, or some thing else?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Xaios

Foolish Mortal
Contributor
Reaction score
I'm self taught. I was a typical pentatonic blues/jazz monkey with a strat-type-guitar for the LONGEST time, although I always loved the sound of shred, but I didn't know where to begin, even though I knew the typical scales. Over time, I noticed just how fast I could play pentatonic scales, so I decided to try and apply those skills to modal scales. It was a surprisingly easy transition. That kind of bolstered me to develop my legato (which was already by far my main strength, still is), speed picking, tapping, and sweep picking.

So what helped me to build chops? The love of the sound, and the desire to attain it was definitely the biggest, if not the only thing.

canuck brian

Bowes Guitars
Contributor
Reaction score
i think for about 12 years of my 17 years playing, I actually had no fucking idea what I was doing. I was just a tab monkey and I barely practiced. I took about 6 years off in the middle there from playing (another hobby ate my time) but when i started playing again, I picked up Rock Discipline from Petrucci. I also grabbed the Guitar Grimoire - scales and modes, which has been pretty invaluable. I also bought a metronome - i never used one before.

Other than that, practice practice practice.

In hindsight - I was pretty stupid to not do what I am doing now for a practice regime. I still can't play legato worth a shit though.

jaxadam

Reaction score
What helped me the most were a lot very simple exercises practiced very slowly and very accurately for a very long time.

dream-thief

I Am The Anger
Reaction score