What trem do I have?

• Thread starter Cyberi4n
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Cyberi4n

Reaction score
Ok apologies if this sounds like a noobie thread - whilst I've been playing for 16 years I've only just recently purchased my first Ibanez! Its a RG7620, serial # F9913944 (which I'm assuming to be a '99?!?)

What trem would I have on it? Is it the Edge, Lo-Pro, Pro Edge? Or something else? The guitar is yet to arrive from the states, but here is an image from the eBay auction.

203.JPG

Also I'm confused by this whole screw within a screw issue for the trem-posts! None of my other guitars have this and to be honest the info on the ibanezrules tech setup has left me none the wiser! COrrect me if I'm wrong but...

If I want to LOWER the action

I simply lower the posts using the larger allen screw, then tighten the inner screw using the smaller allen screw.

If I want to RAISE the action

I first loosen the inner screw, then raise the posts, then tighten down the inner screw again?

Is this right? I'm used to setting action n stuff on my Jacksons but of course they only have a solid trempost with no inner screw to worry about.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Ken

Forum MVP
Reaction score
That would be the Lo-Pro Edge.

As for adjusting action, the inner screw is a set screw. I assume it's designed to add stability to the posts. In any case, switch your definitions and you'll be fine.

Lower action: loosen set screw first, as it will prevent the post from going any lower.

Raise action: Simply loosen the post screws.

Once you've got your action where you want it, tighten the set screws so that their purpose can be fulfilled. :) :lol: On second thought, I would loosen the set screw first no matter which way you want the action to go.

Post #999. Must think of something good for the next level. :D

ChrisPcritter

Contributor