Writing in different times?

• Thread starter Glimpsed-AM
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Glimpsed-AM

Reaction score
Okay, so my vocalist said that our band kind of sticks to 4/4 time quite a bit and we started to catch on to that. So he told me we need to start working with different time signatures. My problem is I don't really know how to do that, I listen to quite a few bands who use different timings, but I don't know how to go about doing it myself because I'm not that experienced with it. Is it possible to do different time signatures with just a regular metronome? Any tips on how I should start learning about this would be great! Thanks. :hbang:

Also sorry if you guys get this question a lot... :imnew:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
90% of the time bands trying to force odd time signatures just sound retarded. Don't worry about it too much. Tab out some of your riffs and I think you'll be surprised by how many are not in 4/4. :)

Also, never listen to your vocalist

VBCheeseGrater

not quite a shredder
Reaction score
Well honestly I would, but he's been playing guitar and writing riffs longer than I have in another death metal band. So I just kinda went with it and agreed with him.

That's cool, sounds like he has a bit of experience, so he may have some good points. Of course we'll never know for sure about the guy over the internet, but kudos to you for listening to a more experienced member.

And yes, you can use a regular metronome. Just divide the measures up into multiples of something other than 4. For example, for 6/8 timing, your measure would end after 6 clicks of the metronome. So a 6/8 riff would start the next measure after 6 clicks, and if it's really simple may even repeat after 6 clicks. A 7/8 measure would end after 7 clicks.