You Rock Guitar YRG-1000

• Thread starter StratoJazz
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

StratoJazz

Reaction score
Before you read on, I would like to let you all know that I really had high hopes for this guitar. It seemed like a great portable and cheap solution to buying a midi pickup or having a midi system installed in your favorite axe. As a guitarist, I also would rather work with a midi controller that plays like an actual guitar(or is a guitar) than a keyboard or an mpc.

This review will be an account of my experience with this guitar. I will not be reviewing the game controller aspect of this instrument. I will primarily focus on it's applications as a midi controller and a standalone instrument. If you've had a great experience with this guitar, please feel free to post your account.

Features

This guitar is loaded with features. Since it is a digital guitar, it doesn't need tuning, it can be transposed at will, it can serve as a midi controller as well as has several unique features:
1. Tap function - Essentially turns the neck of the guitar into a touch instrument. I'd compare this to a Warr guitar or a Chapman stick.
2. Guitar/Synths - Instrument Sound banks, alot of sounds. I'll get to this in a bit.
3. Tuning - Features tunings like DADGAD, Drop D, Open Chords and other tunings.
4. You Rock Mode - Allows you to play guitar with one set scale. For example, if you set it to C major, it will only let you play the notes from that scale. This is useful if you are learning the scales on the neck and is a great feature.
5. Music vs. Game Mode - pretty self explanatory.

This guitar comes also comes with backing tracks so you can play alone. It also has a 1/4-inch jack for your cable, Usb, 3.5mm stereo in and out and even midi pin connector.