2 Cabinets in 1 Head...

• Thread starter Mark 7
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Mark 7

McLeod!
Contributor
Reaction score
I got a Mesa 2x12 extension cab to go with my Bogner 4x12 - the Mesa is 8 Ohm and the Bogner is 16 Ohm which I think is OK as a safe mismatch. When I first plugged them in I noticed that only one or the other would work - I have a Mesa Road King which can be switched in each channel from speakers A,B or A&B. After fucking around with the jacks a bit I can finally get both working but notice a pretty steep drop in volume in each cab when both are going - is this normal? It would make sense for the power to now be absorbed by 6 speakers instead of 4 (or 2). I realized I've never used more than one cabinet before. Just checking.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

LordOVchaoS

NUDE MAN!
Forum MVP
Reaction score
What speaker outs are you using? You shouldn't notice a volume drop. Plug the 8 ohm cabinet into a 4 ohm jack and the 16 ohm cabinet into an 8 ohm jack and all should be well. If you've done that already I'm not quite sure what to tell you.

Chris

Forum MVP
Reaction score
Careful with that axe, Eugene. Make sure you're not overloading your power amp, or you'll cook it.

LordOVchaoS

NUDE MAN!
Forum MVP
Reaction score
Chris said:
Careful with that axe, Eugene. Make sure you're not overloading your power amp, or you'll cook it.

If he hooks it up like I said to it will be ok. The combined cabinets make a 12 ohm load and the way I told him to hook it up should be 100% safe. I'll check the Mesa site though to be sure, be back in a minute...

mesa%20cab.JPG

Mark 7

McLeod!
Contributor
Reaction score