Advice on first 7

Mibsen

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have been toying with the idea this summer of buying an Ibanez RGA7 as my first 7 string (I am classically trained and have a 6 string but have yet to get into playing extended range guitars). I have briefly played one at a music shop near my house and loved the feel of the neck. That being said, my two concerns are the pickups and the bridge.

I've never been one for tremolo bars (mostly because I just think they look tacky) but since I'm going to be powering hard through more rhythmic music with this guitar (djent, progressive, whatever you want to call it) It would be nice to have the ability to pitch-dive or bend the pitch below my lowest note.
Since this is something I am back and forth on I'd like to know what you guys think about it.

The pickups are not so much of an issue, for now I want the guitar to immerse myself in playing material like this since I have little experience in it (but hey we all start somewhere right?) so for now the crappy (as I've been told they are) pickups will do. but theoretically it would be possible to replace them later with BKP's or Dimarzio's with minimal or no modification to the body correct? what are your guys thoughts on pickup choices? mostly I want clarity of individual notes, especially on big chords as I dont want to just chug 2 strings all the time, and I want something that can deliver intense punch for my heavy tones and also a very full sound for my cleans.

Last comment, one of the big reasons I consider the RGA7 is the price. I am a student (actually studying music) and I can't afford to spend well over a grand on a guitar. but let me know your thoughts, as I know little about the actual technicalities of these kinds of guitars.

EDIT: People who's tones I love are: Misha Mansoor, Tosin Abasi, Jake Bowen, guys from Volumes, etc

also, sorry this post was so long :wallbash:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.