Ambience and "washed out" guitars - how to do it?

• Thread starter LedAstray
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

LedAstray

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Hi All.

Please be patient with me, I'm a noob and may or may not be half-retarded.

Influenced by my recurring obsession with some specific bands and their tone and atmosphere I started to wonder how would I reproduce this kind of stuff in my own playing (covers, mainly).
On the surface it looks like there are two things that I am asking today, but I thin they have something in common.

So without further ado:

1. Really, reallly washed out guitars in some black metal bands - e.g. Akhlys and Aoratos.
These two bands are really two projects of the same guy, and they both sound quite similar. In any case, it's a good representation of what I have in mind.

Is that just... reverb and nothing more?
There surely must be something else going on, when I try to do something similar with just reverb I do not get comparable results at all.

2. Ambience.
We can use the same examples as above, both albums have copious amounts of ambient sounds.
Also one of my other fav bands - Obscure Sphinx - uses this kind of stuff that I have no clue how to make.
Where do I start? Synths maybe?

Last edited:

ArtDecade

Barking Pumpkin
Reaction score
You need some Winger in your life because those bands are terrible. That said, yup. It is mostly reverb and not high-fidelity ones. You could probably just get some old Boss 12-bit Reverb pedal and call it a day. If you want an even more dirty room, run the reverb into the front end of the amps and you can get some shoegazey stuff. The combination of verb and not separating the instruments in the mix makes it sound like a washy mess.

But... really.... Winger, man. Give Kip a chance.

wheresthefbomb

Reaction score
This is my jam. I play heavy drone and ambient guitar, and sometimes people even pay me money to do it.