Back where we started?

• Thread starter gnoll
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

gnoll

Reaction score
I've found that the gear I like the sound of the most is more or less the first stuff I bought when I started playing. Both my first guitar and my first tube amp are still here and they sound fucking awesome. (An LTD 400 series guitar and a 5150.)

So either A) I got so used to this gear that everything else sounds wrong in comparison, or B) I fucking nailed it when buying gear as a teenager.

Do you guys have the same feeling, like it's hard to improve on the stuff you started out with? And if yes, why do you think that is?

MaxOfMetal

Likes trem wankery.
Super Moderator
Reaction score
I've found that the gear I like the sound of the most is more or less the first stuff I bought when I started playing. Both my first guitar and my first tube amp are still here and they sound fucking awesome. (An LTD 400 series guitar and a 5150.)

So either A) I got so used to this gear that everything else sounds wrong in comparison, or B) I fucking nailed it when buying gear as a teenager.

Do you guys have the same feeling, like it's hard to improve on the stuff you started out with? And if yes, why do you think that is?

It just sounds like you were lucky enough to start with some pretty solid gear.

5150s and LTDs didn't even exist when I started playing. :lol:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

KnightBrolaire

SSO's unofficial pickup tester
Reaction score
Hell naw. I started out on an Ibanez RG3EXFM and a gorilla amp. Everything is an improvement over that shit. The guitar was so dead sounding even after swapping an evo2 set and a titan set into it. I jumped from the gorilla to a shitty crate solid state, and then an even shittier raven solid state, before finally getting my mesa f30 (that I love to death).