Combining Amp Sims for better tone?

• Thread starter GalacticDeath
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

GalacticDeath

Reaction score
Has anyone tried combining different amp sims to get a better, fuller tone? Like duplicating a guitar track and trying a different amp sim for each one. Are there any potential phase issues when doing this? I'm aware that rhythm guitars Left and Right should be different takes, but what about duplicating the Left and Right tracks and trying different amp sims?

I've been recording on and off for a few years now and like the idea of recording DI for the versatility of re-amping and ease of editing. However, I've never been able to get a tone I was 100% happy with using amp sims, and I've tried a few (Bias, GTR, ToneForge, Amplitube). For whatever reason I seem to get better tones with my PodXT and PodHD500, however I sometimes wish I could edit the tone slightly plus it makes editing harder when the guitars are already distorted from the Pod.

I would still really like to eventually get a good tone using amp sims and I'm wondering if anybody has experience combining amp sims. And what would be the best way to go about it.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

GunpointMetal

Reaction score
I think its pretty common. I like to use two or three, usually a 5150-type, a Marshall-type, and a Boogie-type, or run one amp sim through multiple IRs. I haven't had any major phase issues that I could hear. I'm getting some good sounds out of my Helix just using different IRs on the same amp.

akinari

Reaction score