DAWs?

• Thread starter ThePIGI King
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

ThePIGI King

Jiu Jitsu Enthusiast
Reaction score
I had a random amount of free time today and got a ton done in prep for finally being ready to record. Now I need to make a decision and get a DAW. But I would love feedback here - even though I feel like everyones going to say Reaper lol

I don't have anything currently, I have no experience in this space and am not tech savvy or good with a computer. My computer can handle any of them.

I've read some posts around Reddit and various sites, and watched a couple youtube videos and I (think I have) narrowed it down mostly to Reaper or Studio One (Artist).

I write exclusively metal - from not so tech-tech death to Scale the Summit-esque prog. I am not planning on using more than one or two VSTs at a time. I will be using Get Good Drums (probably. Still figuring that out too), a real bass with my helix, guitar with helix.

I hear a ton that the biggest nod to reaper is the customization, but I don't really tweak user interfaces or enjoy playing around with that sort of thing. And because I'm new to this, whatever I get is what I will be used to.

The price difference isn't much, but I could upgrade to the Pro version of Studio One down the road if I needed to. What say ye, SSO? What do you recommend, and why? I'm really wanting to pick something and stick with it.

asopala

Reaction score
I use neither between the two, but I know MANY more engineers who use Reaper compared to Studio One. Just as some examples, Joey Sturgis and Josh Schroeder use Reaper as their mains as of this post. Joey's reputation precedes him, and Josh did the last few Lorna Shore records, including the EP with "To The Hellfire" that blew them up.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

TedEH

Cromulent
Reaction score
everyones going to say Reaper