Descending legato runs (Pull offs)

• Thread starter InAbsentia_
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

InAbsentia_

Reaction score
I just can't do these! I'm mostly fine with the High E, but descending downwards (especially in a chromatic scale) is ridiculously difficult for me, and when I get to the A and low E string, it's basically impossible.

I'm not a beginner by any means, but it's a beginner thing which I should have sorted out. How do I fix this? Speed isn't an issue, I can't do it properly at any speed having the notes ring out clearly and cleanly every time.

Thanks in advance!

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

ShadyDavey

7ibrarian
Reaction score
It may sound obvious, but start slowly.

For me it was a combination of two things - finger excercises (In pairs, groups of three and finally all four digits) which emphasied pull-offs through scale patterns (killing two birds with one stone as it were) and also sheer monotonous repetitions of licks which descened by hammering-on to a new string, and also those which moved to an adjacent string with picking.

No substitute for good, solid practice I'm afraid :)

There's almost certainly going to be an issue with the weaker end of your hand (ring finger/pinky) so if you can address those concerns immediately then they should fall into line with the naturally stronger 1st/2nd fingers - another tip is to practice with a clean tone as hiding behind distortion/excess gain can disguise problems.

Konfyouzd

Return of the Dread-I
Reaction score
^ Slow and steady wins the race.

Also, depending on who you talk to, that's not "true legato" (all hammer-ons from what I gather) :lol:

But back on topic, slow practice is how I began to develop the technique. That's how I developed pretty much every technique tbh. It sucks at first but it's worth it to slow down and learn it well. :yesway: