Design critiques wanted!

JuliusJahn

Luthier
Reaction score
Hey everyone! My name is Julius Jahn and I'm a 19 year old luthier-in-training. I'm working on making my own original interpretations of classic designs, and wanted to know what everyone thought. All my family and friends say they look good but they are biased and what better place then the internet for the negative side of things! This time though, I actually want you to critique my work as harshly as you see fit. I want these designs to be perfect before I start offering them to you guys for sale as custom builds.

I know already that the LP headstock will probably need some redesigning as well as the back end and lower horn of the superstrat style, but not sure how. I also prefer a rounder back end, but people seem to be going crazy over BM style rear end's and like the straighter variant.

All guitars lower horn's are perfectly in line with the last fretwire for ultimate ease of access and playability, as well as straight pull 6-in-line headstocks.

So please, critique away! Once they are finalized I will be offering them to the public/internet for sale. If you're eager, feel free to like me over on facebook (https://www.facebook.com/jahnguitars) while my website is still in the works. And yes, I do have building experience with my age. I just gave build #4 to the client from a province over, and have #5 and 6 starting this monday.

T3
ybbq5PH.png

C1
9fAMzUk.png

LP
0ukFlHc.png

Thanks again!

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

DredFul

Maple fretboard enthusiast
Reaction score
I think they all look great but a bit generic. Are you planning to offer your customers something one-of-a-kind or just a different take on the classic desings? Although the "hook" of your guitars could be thing you said about fret access :D

Fretless

Knob Fiddler
Reaction score