DI Box Suggestions

Bronson

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
So I’ve been using the Neural DSP Gojira plugin since it came out. I’m still learning about the digital side of playing guitar. The signal chain I use is:
Guitar-Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen-PC-Neural
Guitar pickups used:
BK Aftermath
BK Ragnaroks
Dimarzio D Activator
Dimarzio Titan
SD Nazgul

I’ve noticed that I have to crank the gain on the interface way down to avoid clipping. I also have to do the same in the VST. It almost seems I have to drop everything down to the point where I lose a lot of punch and clarity. I’ve seen that a DI box would help alleviate this issue. I just want to make sure this is the right answer and not something else I’m doing wrong. If the DI box is the way to go then what is a good DI box?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

buriedoutback

Reaction score
I just found out recently that on a bunch of interfaces, in order to get unity gain (in = out), you need to press the "instrument" button and have the gain at 0. I had issues for years getting a proper DI signal to make a VST sound good.

I was using a Radial Pro DI (which is amazing BTW) but I can go direct now and it sounds awesome. If you need a DI for anything, I'd recommend this one.

In my case, I have a Behringer UMC1820, so I can't speak for your interface. This may not be the issue at all.

KnightBrolaire

Say yes to Chugs
Reaction score
If you're clipping that badly then you should use the -15 db pad on the scarlett to start with. Also make sure you're on the instrument switch.
But yeah if you want a good solid di box, radial is the way to go.

Thrashman

Got Groove?
Reaction score
Scarlett interfaces are pretty outdated in general, if you can I'd look at an Audient or something similar.

MrWulf

Reaction score
So I’ve been using the Neural DSP Gojira plugin since it came out. I’m still learning about the digital side of playing guitar. The signal chain I use is: