Experience Custom 7 Review

• Thread starter johnpyeatt13
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

johnpyeatt13

Reaction score
The first thing I thought when I pulled this guitar out of the box was, "Wow this looks like crap." I was beyond disappointed with the way this turned out. At least until I started playing this thing. I didn't realize how great this guitar really was because I was very frustrated with the wait time, the finish, and the fact that it came with only 22 frets to realize that maybe this thing actually sounds and plays well. I finally plugged it in the day after I got it because of work, but holy crap this guitar is absolutely amazing from a tone and playing aspect. The features on this guitar are top notch which is to be expected from a fully custom guitar. The sound is very very nice. I'm glad I went with Kalium strings because they have such a great tone to them and the Dimarzio Illuminators are everything I could ever ask for in a pickup. The action is perfect on this guitar. It's not super close to the fretboard, but it's not super high off of the fretboard either. The finish though is one of the worse things on this guitar. It was painted by a car painter and not a guitar finisher. There is way too much black for a blackburst and you can hardly see the purple unless you shine it in the light. Which brings me to my next terrible thing about this guitar. It only has 22 frets when I asked for 24. Luckily Jonathan is someone that does actually care about his customers and gave me a couple hundred bucks back for the finish and the frets. He also is giving me a huge discount on my next guitar which I very much appreciate. The neck on this guitar though is just absolutely divine. It feels perfect and I can literally play it all day. I couldn't do that on my Shecter, Ibanez, or Legator. It is very rounded and feels like a thinner strat neck without the flatness of an Ibanez sty