Extended Range Classical Guitars

• Thread starter 6or7mattersnot
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

6or7mattersnot

Hey guys look! Text!
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm a classical guitar student who mainly plays on a standard classical guitar, but I do have a 7 string electric guitar that is my main electric instrument, and I was wondering how different a classical guitar with an extended range, specifically a seventh or eighth string, is from your traditional classical guitar. Is it a simple adjustment period like it is with the 7 string or 8 string electric guitar? Or is the additional range something that completely changes how you play the instrument as per left hand and/or right hand technique?

Winspear

Winspear/Noisemother
Reaction score
Hi,
I am no classical guitarist, but I do own a multiscale 8 string Bartolex classical and an 11 string alto by Milagro, along with many various electric guitars and basses with up to 9 strings. More of a typical acoustic / jazz approach.
I would say that yes, it's just simply adding extra strings.
Typically, the classical extended range guitars are different to electrics in that they are not tuned in 4ths. Basses might look like CDEADGBE for example.
In that case, even less of an adjustment I suppose as you are not playing them with your fretting hand.
I prefer to treat them like normal though and tune them in 4ths on my 8 string, which is in 8 string standard tuning.