Fingertips Splitting

rvoteary

Cocaine Enthusiast
Reaction score
Figured this'd be the best forum I'm on the ask about this. I've been playing guitar since 2004 and never really had this issue but recently when I play my fingertips have been splitting. It hurts like crazy and it seems like the only way to stop it from happening is by not playing guitar, which sucks. I've tried a few different moisturizers and whatnot and it seems to work until I start playing again. Anyone else had this?

KnightBrolaire

SSO's unofficial pickup tester
Reaction score
let em heal up properly (as in take off a few weeks from playing guitar) or go the masochist route and superglue the splits together and suffer for your music.

Drew

Forum MVP
Reaction score
I've had occasional trouble with my fingertip sort of separating under the nail a tiny bit because they're dry and cracked in the winter, and my knuckles definitely crack in the winter, as well. I've just tried to get in the habit of being proactive about hand moisterizer, because while it's not super macho or anything, having your knuckles bleeding as they crack is kind of a pain in the ass. I use Aveeno moisturizing lotion - an ex girlfriend (who was the one who convinced me to try using moisturizer in the first place, because my knuckles kept cracking in the winter) recommended it, as it doesn't feel at all oily.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Surveyor 777

I measure things
Reaction score
I have this problem every winter. Either the fingertips split in the middle of the tip or my thumbs split right at one of the edges of the nail. My only solution is using hand lotion and often - not a lot at a time, but just to keep moisture in my skin.