Graphtec Ghost saddles

• Thread starter soldierkahn
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

soldierkahn

BAD MAMMA-JAMMA
Contributor
Reaction score
Since I was pleased with replacing my stock saddles on my PRS USA Holcomb with Graphtec String Savers, it made me look at the Graphtec Ghost Piezo saddles differently. How difficult of an operation would it be to be able to install these in my Holcomb? Is the end result worth the investment? Im not exactly thrilled with the clean tones from my Fishmans and wondered if installing and utilizing the Piezo pickups for my clean tones would be worth the investment? Ive never had an opportunity to experiment with a guitar that was PIezo equipped so i have no experience with them.

images

mastapimp

Reaction score
Installing the saddles wouldn't be hard, it's the rest of the piezo system that will require some work. You need to include the preamp that they're compatible with as well as decide how you want to handle the piezo signals. Do you plan on routing and installing a 2nd output jack? If not, you will likely need to add a blend knob. Both cases would require another toggle switch for on/off of the preamp.

The switching on my mayones (single output jack) regarding the piezo is a three-way toggle for pure magnetic, blended (piezo + mag), and pure piezo. The knobs are volume, tone, and blend w/ push-pull splitting for the pickups.

It looks like you've already swapped the tone knob for the voicing switch of the fluence system, so you're looking at adding several more knobs/switches to get full use of the piezo system. Seeing as the knobs are recessed, it'll look very strange on that guitar after the fact and I'm not sure what the control cavity looks like so you might be limited on placement or it could get crowded, especially if you end up re-adding a tone knob.