Help me understand the potential benefits of upgrading from an Mbox 2

• Thread starter Gnarcade
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Gnarcade

Reaction score
I have been rocking my trusty Mbox 2 for a good 13 years now. Yikes that's actually kind of scary to type... I know there are so many different options out there for audio interfaces now, and I am considering upgrading. That being said, I genuinely don't know what I would gain by doing so? I am hoping that those of you who have a more in depth technical understanding of pro audio gear could help educate me, or point me in the right direction of some resources to learn more about what I should be considering.

I am almost exclusively recording through DI in a home capacity, and Reaper is my DAW of choice. The instruments I most commonly record are:
- line level guitar and bass DI for amp sims
- The Redbox DI out of my Hughes and Kettner 5 watt head
- Modified Gameboys (One of my bands is a chiptune project)

Thanks for any info you can provide!

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Drew

Forum MVP
Reaction score
How much of an upgrade are you talking?

For something in the same pricerange or maybe a little more, but brand new, you're mostly getting:

1) Something that's not at danger of dying of old age :lol:
2) drivers that are a lot earlier on in their life cycle, and will likely continue to be maintained for much longer
3) somewhat better AD/DA conversion (which will benefit you) and preamps (which from the sound of it are less important if you're mostly doing DI).

If you upgrade a bit more seriously, then you start to get into even better preamp and AD/DA conversion territory, which especially if you're doing a lot of reamping/VSTi work, getting a really, really clean DI signal can make a difference.