How to Record or Mix a Nasal Vocalist

Reaction score
So I have been recording and mixing on a consistent basis for about two years. Within that time our band that I co-started has been working on an EP/Album for about a year. I have just about finished mixing the whole project but there is one song were our vocalist has a very strong nasal sound. I have tried everything I can think of from EQ, multi band limiters/compressors to mylodyne. We've come to the conclusion that there is not really anything we can do about it as the nasal quality spreads across the whole frequency spectrum.

TLDR, My question is this:

Is there any processing technique or micing technique that could help me with nasal sounding vocals for future projects? Anything at all that could help.

Thanks in advance everyone!

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Duosphere

(oYo) Lover
Reaction score
Easy.
Sent him to an otolaryngologist.
We musicians have to prepare our muscles to play, the same with singers.
You could cut some frequencies of his nasal region but still he'd be a nasal singer with less mids.
A singing teacher could teach him how to change that.
All singers I recorded had singing teachers and used to take really good care of their "instruments".
A nasal singer means he probably only spent money buying a mic........probably not even a mic.
We musicians spend money with gear, singers should spend money with a doctor and a singing teacher...........and a mic :lol:

Hollowway

Extended Ranger
Reaction score
^+1
I agree. Nasal singing means he's resonating in his head, which can make it easier to match pitch, but ultimately short changes him as a singer. There's a reason great singers sound great. As far as mixing it to make it sound less nasally, I have no idea. But yeah, get the man some lessons!

Josh Delikan

Reaction score
^ +1 +1.