Interested in new 5 string, looking for feedback

• Thread starter wankerness
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

wankerness

Reaction score
I'm interested in buying a new bass sometime soon, and I've always sorta drooled over Warwicks. I'm interested in 5 strings, mainly. As far as models go, I haven't found a clear description of what the strengths and weaknesses are of each model, but it seems like the "Thumb" and the "Streamer Stage 1/2s" are the upper mid range models and thus what I'm interested in. I'm not closed to other brands, either, but from all I've heard a Warwick will solve most of my woes.

I've been using an Ibanez 405q for the last ten years and have recently gotten really dissatisfied with it as I've been playing in bigger groups with better sound systems, it seems like no matter what I do with the EQ, pickups and string gauges still results in the G string sounding incredibly thin and wimpy. I also REALLY don't like the action on this thing, I've adjusted it all different ways and it just doesn't work well for slap lines (not something I do a ton of, but I do enough that I've taken to using a cheap piece of shit just to slap/tap on cause the strings actually rebound properly). Finally, the output on this thing is INSANELY low, with volume on max and even with pickups raised almost to the strings the output is so low I have to run it through preamps before it will even trigger my compressor. This last problem may be some kind of defective electronics, but it's been exactly the same the entire time I've had it and no places I've had take a look at it have ever commented on it so who knows.