Laptop recommendations?

• Thread starter LordCashew
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

LordCashew

Death Punch for Cutie
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm new to this part of the forum. I'm looking at buying my first laptop in the next month or so, for wifi access, basic home recording and maybe use as a virtual rig. I'm fairly computer literate, but since I don't really follow what's going on in the computer industry I'm looking for recommendations on which brands and dealers I should be looking into or avoiding.

I'm leaning toward something PC at this point because they're so much cheaper, but I'm open to looking at Macs if there's a compelling reason to pay so much more.

troyguitar

Reaction score
You really need more info to get recommendations, such as:

Price range
Required features
Prioritization of specs (In other words, rank things like battery life, screen size, weight, processing power in order of importance)

I use a Fujitsu tablet which is perfect for me but is definitely not for everyone.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

wookie606

Telecaster Fetish
Reaction score
to be honest, lately acer have got pretty good, i got a new one not long ago and ive been impressed (which is hard as i do work in a pc repair shop and see all the faults in major brands such as dell, sony and even the thinkpad has some gay as problems)

djpharoah

Awwww Yeaaaah
Super Moderator
Reaction score
I always recommend Thinkpads (Lenovo - Laptop computers - ThinkPad)

You can't go wrong with a thinkpad if you go PC.
I'd avoid the new Chinese Made Thinkpads. Ever since Lenovo bought the Thinkpad line frm IBM their quality has gone down the toilet.

I know - I've own over 15 Thinkpads (my hobby prior to guitars) and the newer ones really suck. The last good Thinkpads imo were the T43p. Anything after it I wouldnt touch.