Little Victories

synrgy

Ya ya ya I am Lorde
Reaction score
I didn't know where else to post this. If there's a more appropriate area than 'off topic', please let me know.

I did something pretty cool earlier this week, and I wanted to not only share what I did, but start a thread in which we could all share the 'little victories' we achieve in our day to day lives.

I'll start:

I've been wrestling with my car's audio system for about 2 years now. Most of my trouble has been revolving around a pair of powered subs I have under each seat. (This is the model: Blaupunkt THb 200A Compact powered subwoofer 70-watt amp with an 8" sub at Crutchfield.com)

When I first installed them, and for the following 2 years, I had severe trouble with noise coming through the RCA inputs I was using on each sub. I tried grounding them in a bajillion different places, using a variety of different methods, and nothing made a difference. The end result of this was that I had to use these little ground-loop-isolator units, which severely cut the decibels from each sub. I had to have the volume on each sub completely maxed out in order to get respectable output from them.

About 2 months ago (among several unrelated mechanical issues that led to my car turning into a money pit) they just up and stopped working completely. When I'd turn the key to start the car, I could see their power indication lights turning on for the briefest of moments, then immediately cut out again. I couldn't figure out what the hell the problem was. Finally, on a whim I decided to ditch the RCA cables completely and try the speaker-level inputs instead. BINGO. Now the subs sounded AMAZING.

Still, there was a new problem. When using the RCA cables, the subs automatically shut off whenever signal to them was cut off. After switching to the speaker-level inputs, this no longer took place. I had to unplug them every time I got out of the car, which was kind of a pain in the ass.