Music Theary 101 for self taught guitar players?

• Thread starter ezboarderz
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

ezboarderz

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
I am a self taught guitar player that plays mostly for hobby as its been something that I have had as a hobby for the last 20 years. I have learned to play basically through trial and error and by learning the songs of bands that I enjoy listening to by looking up their tabs. I have noticed that I have discovered patterns of notes for certain tunings and apparently those happen to be falling into certain scales which i have made into riffs and ive built up riffs over the years this way and have had some success turning those into songs.

I am at a point where I feel that my lack of understanding of music theory is holding me back as I have the physical ability to play the stuff I enjoy at fairly fast tempo but I would like to get an understanding of what the certain patterns that I discover are and how they connected to scales, keys, chords, etc. I feel like understanding the why and the how will allow me to be even more creative with coming up with riffs and just allow me to be a better song writer. I am a huge fan of extreme metal and I feel like this will take me a long way. I play 6 string guitars, mostly in drop B or standard C#, but I will be looking to get myself a 7 string early next year.

Are there are online resources that one could recommend for someone like me? I feel like a "music theory for self taught guitar players" type of a thing would be perfect if something like that exists.

Lax

Reaction score
Music theory for guitarist for dummies or anyway it's titled, I went back to theory with for dummies digital books and it clicked well and nice

Reactions: elj

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Winspear

Winspear/Noisemother
Reaction score