Portable Guitar Project

TheJaug

Reaction score
I'm a beginner in terms of building guitars, but for my first project I plan to build a portable guitar. I know that guitars with folding necks already exist, but these require re-tuning ect. every time you unfold. My plan is to build an effectively through-neck guitar with a reverse headstock. This block, from the nut to about 60mm past the bridge will be one "part" and the rest of the body will disassemble into 3 more parts. These parts can then be reattached together to form a smaller, portable item with a length of around 700mm. This will also reduce the risk of damaging the guitar during transport.
Im thinking that it should be a semi-acoustic to keep both the size and the weight down. I've drawn a few design sketches, and I'll upload them to this thread shortly.
To increase its appeal as a "travel" guitar I also thought that I should put a speaker in between two pickups, where a sound-hole should be on an acoustic.

Any advice, tips, things to be careful about, or general feedback would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Josh

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

TheJaug

Reaction score
In terms of pickups, I'm thinking piezoelectric under-the-saddle? Probably the simplest to install, and would save me a lot of space.

What I've bought:
A set of 6 tuning pegs
A pre-cut fretboard
plenty of strings
A truss rod
10 neodymium magnets with holes cut out of the middle for attachment to the wood
a bridge
and about to order this Acoustic 5-Band EQ Equalizer Guitar Preamp Piezo Pickup LCD Tuner UK | eBay

TheJaug

Reaction score
IMG_20140305_125513_zpse95ebf08.jpg

So theres a poorly proportioned innaccurate drawing of the working guitar.
Im working on a decent one...

TheJaug

Reaction score
Ok, so update:
Ive routed my neck

And glued the truss rod in (I think Gibson-style?)