Recording an Acoustic with a Mic - Level Way to Low...

• Thread starter JimF
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

JimF

Contributor
Reaction score
I've been recording with a friend for a while, all self taught, self produced kind of stuff. I've no doubt that I'll be using the wrong terms below, but he knows what he's doing.
Recently we decided to use an acoustic for a few parts rather than clean electric, that sort of 'Fight Fire With Fire' type cliched metal intro.
We're using Cubase, an SM57, an active DI box, and an interface.
With the mic literally about 1/2" away from the strings over the soundhole, playing fingerstyle was barely registering. The acoustic is loud enough for normal use so its not the guitar. By the time we turned up to match the levels of the other tracks, the background noise & hiss was so loud it was unusable.

Things we tried:
Using an SM58
Playing as hard as possible
Using the Db lift button on the DI box
Cranking all the volumes/gains

Things we can't try:
Plugging it in (non electric)
Using a different acoustic (we don't have one)
Putting the mic any closer
Upping the gain any more.

What are we missing?
To add context, we then proceeded to un-press the Db lift button on the DI box, and record vocals for the following two days without issues, so its not like something is broken.

It feels like there's some really obvious thing we're missing, its almost like when you plug your guitar into a PC without an interface and it sounds really weedy and thin. Except it can't be that.

TedEH

Cromulent
Reaction score
My first question is why is a DI box being used for a mic? A DI box is generally for taking an instrument level signal and plugging it into something expecting a mic signal. A mic signal is already a mic signal, so it doesn't need a DI box.

I've seen some dynamic mics requiring a gain boost (like a cloudlifter), but these are very different than a DI box.