Switching Keys!

• Thread starter coreypla
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

coreypla

Reaction score
First time poster on this thread! A pre-emptive: Sorry for wasting everyones time! I am new to music theory but have been playing a lot of music for a long time. Really what I mean is that I am new to obsessing over music theory haha! I don't know a lot of the terms, so sorry if I get them wrong! Also, I play rock guitar. Not sure if that matters here.

I was wondering if there would be a good chord to help me glue together (or transition from) B natural minor into F# major?

I was thinking C# dim 7 but that doesn't seem to be "perfect" for both keys. And I think that has some B flat in it? This is not in B minor, but could pull into F# major (its the third note in the scale)?

Then I was thinking about leading tones (or tendency tones actually). I thought that maybe A# would be okay, since A# is a leading tone into B minor (but outside the scale), and A# minor is a chord in F# major (the third I think). I feel that this would work better to move out of F# major and back into B natural minor. So I'm back to wondering if there is a better way to move from B natural minor into F# major without making too many pitstops along the way.

Like I said, I'm really clueless with this stuff. So this opens a few other questions:

Is it possible to move between any two keys safely? Is there some gradient in doing this? Where one can realistically do what one wants. But there are keys that we can move between effortlessly, and others that require more work, and others that will likely always feel abrupt without moving through some other keys first. Like road trips of varying distance. Easy to go from adjacent cities, or states. More involved to go across countries or continents.

Let me know what your opinions are! I just want to hear from you all!!!

Hollowway

Extended Ranger
Reaction score