What do I do with my 5150?

• Thread starter newfinator
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

newfinator

The LORD OF BYRON
Reaction score
Right now my main amps are a Carvin Legacy and a 5150. I’m finding that I play the 5150 very little due to becoming used to the, more mid-centric, tone of the Legacy and finding the 5150 somewhat thin sounding in comparison. I like the aggressive nature of the 5150 but wish it was less mid-scooped.

I guess in an ideal world I’d have an amp that could do them both and everything in between. So, I’m left with a few options, in my mind. I can figure out how to fatten up the 5150 and/or getting a third amp that would supply the thicker singing tone of the Legacy and, optionally, be as aggressive as the 5150.

As far as the third amp option is concerned, from what exposure I’ve had, I was thinking that a Mark IV might fit the bill but I have limited experience with them. I get the impression that it could touch on both tones.

Any options or thoughts?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

budda

Do not criticize as this
Contributor
Reaction score
well if they're in different locations.. what exactly is the problem? you rock out on the legacy when you're at that place, and you rock out on the 5150 when you're at that place.

what's your EQ on the 5150?

ibznorange

Chief Officer/RHLC ©
Contributor
Reaction score
you could sell the 5150 and get another legacy?
you could get the 5150 modded

newfinator

The LORD OF BYRON
Reaction score
well if they're in different locations.. what exactly is the problem? you rock out on the legacy when you're at that place, and you rock out on the 5150 when you're at that place.

what's your EQ on the 5150?